Top Public School Seniors Honored by Visitor Industry

Kapolei News

Forty-two seniors, from public high schools across the Hawaiian Islands, each received $1,000 scholarships for their post-graduate educations from the Hawai‘i Lodging & Tourism Association at a luncheon today at The MODERN Honolulu.

The scholarships, known as the Citizen-Scholar Awards, is a partnership of the Hawai‘i Lodging & Tourism Association, Honolulu Star-Advertiser, and Department of Education.  Funding is provided by HLTA members. This was the 12th year the awards were presented.

The students were selected by the Department of Education for scholastic achievements and school and community service.  Each must have a minimum 3.2 grade point average and have an extensive record of school and public service.

Mufi Hannemann, HLTA president and CEO, said: “Hawai‘i’s hospitality industry has been proud to honor the future leaders of our state and nation. These seniors have been selected by dint of their scholastic success as well as their invaluable contributions to their schools and our community. They represent the best of your youth devoting themselves to volunteerism and public service, and we’re delighted to recognize them for their leadership and selflessness.”

This year, the HLTA added two news awards: the top senior representing Oahu and the top senior representing the Neighbor Islands each received an additional $2,500 scholarship. They were selected by an HLTA committee.

The recipients were Perry M. Arrasmith of Aiea High School on Oahu and Julia A. Kimoto of Maui’s Baldwin High School. Arrasmith is vice president of the student body, president of the Council of Organizations, and a member of the robotics, speech and debate, and Students for Democracy clubs.  He plans to attend Harvard College in the fall. Kimoto is active in student government, a member of the National Honor Society, been a long-time 4-H member and held many leadership posts for the group, and volunteers as a children’s soccer coach and with her church. She will attend the University of Portland.

Added Hannemann, “We added these two new awards thanks to the generosity of our HLTA members.  The $2,500 scholarships are an added bonus to the two students who represent all the finest attributes of our future leaders, and we couldn’t have selected better students to inaugurate this special honor.”

A complete list of the Citizen-Scholar Award recipients follows.

2016 Citizen-Scholar Honorees

Aiea High School, Perry M. Arrasmith
Baldwin High School, Julia A. Kimoto
Campbell High School, Rebekah T. Padua
Castle High School, Janice A.M. Hata
Farrington High School, Elvelyn Fernandez
Hana High & Elementary School, Precious Helekahi
Hilo High School, Jasmine T.K. Smeraglia
Honoka‘a High & Intermediate School, Kehaulani I. Kapu
Ka‘u High & Pahala Elementary Schools, Jay-R P. Abalos
Kahuku High & Intermediate School, Yara M.L. Rose
Kailua High School, Zachary Espino
Kaimuki High School, Starshine S. Chun
Kaiser High School, Kannon F. Rivas
Kalaheo High School, Jahanna N. Shah
Kalani High School, Izumi C. Amemiya
Kapa‘a High School, Brylyn N. Aiwohi
Kapolei High School, Joelle A.K. Tamura
Kaua‘i High School, Emma R. Leary
Kea‘au High School, Phillip H. Palmore
Kealakehe High School, Sarah M. Mumbert
Kekaulike High School, Isabelle Mosbarger
Kohala High School, Melanie R. Sahagun
Konawaena High School, Brianna Halliwell
Kula Kalapuni ‘O Anuenue/Anuenue School, Tayler Baniaga
Lahainaluna High School, Natasha Currence
Lana‘i High & Elementary School, Nicholas M. Niimi
Leilehua High School, Ethan S. Toriki
Maui High School, Jacy M. Sera
McKinley High School, Amber M. Kim
Mililani High School, Kiana K. Caranto
Moanalua High School, Jessica S.T. Luong
Molokai High School, Cendall E. Manley
Nanakuli High & Intermediate School, Ma.luisa R. Benicarlo
Pahoa High & Intermediate School, Christopher Erice Bartolome
Pearl City High School, Lindsey M. Brown
Radford High School, Hannah L. Tufts
Roosevelt High School, Noelle N. Lee
Waiakea High School, Taylor M.T. Nishimura
Waialua High & Intermediate School, Cooper R. Thomson
Waianae High School, Lester Aquino
Waimea High School, Melia H. Okura
Waipahu High School, Mc Erl Dave C. Andres